OR
OR
Category Archives: Ipad

How To: Back Up and Clear Data before Selling Cell Phones and Tablets

Here at GadgetRx, we are in the business of recycling old phone, laptops, tablets, iPads, and game systems. When we buy our customers old phones, we get a lot of questions about about privacy and security concerns. Because we use technology for just about everything, most of us have quite a bit of personal information on our phones – address, credit card information, passwords, dirty pictures…the list goes on.

Though we always respect the privacy of all our customers, we understand why people are concerned. So before you come sell your old gadget to us, here are a few tips

Back up and Clear Your Data

If your gadget works, it’s very easy to erase all your history and personal information before you sell/trade/recycle. But before you go erasing everything, you want to make sure you data is backed up. While we are happy to help you with this, below are two links that will walk you through it:

iPhone and iPad Back Up

Android Back Up

Now that everything is backed up (we can double check this if you’d like) you want to start getting rid of your personal history.

iPhone Users

For you Iphone users, clearing your data is pretty simple. Once you have backed up your phone, follow these simple steps to erase everything on your phone:

> Click Settings on your home screen 
> General
> Scroll down and click Reset
> Click Erase All Content and Settings and enter password

Once you confirm, your iPhone will show the Apple logo and a progress bar. It can take a few minutes to several hours based on the version of your iPhone and the amount of data you have on it. Make sure you phone is fully charged before you begin this process 

 

Unlink/Unregister your iPhone:

To be on the safe side, you should unlink and unregister your phone. Programs like Pandora and dropbox are notorious for staying linked even after a users erase all contents and settings.

>Go to: https://supportprofile.apple.com/MySupportProfile.do and log in

>Click Edit Products

>Click on the “X” to the right of any products

>Click Unregister

Android Users

For android users, there is an extra step in the erasing process that many don’t due. Sure, maybe it’s a little overcautious, but the two extra minuets is worth the extra peace of mind. To make sure EVERYTHING is safe, we suggest customers encrypt all of their data. That means that if someone wants to see something that was left on your phone, they will  need your password to access it (iPhones do this automatically)

To encrypt your data, go to:

>Click Settings on your home screen

> Click Security

 >Click Encrypt Device 

 > You also have the option to encrypt your the SD card. Only do this if you plan on selling your sim card along with your phone

android encrypt

*Note* some androids might be a little different. If so, go to youtube and enter: “[phone type] Encrypt data”

Once you have successfully encrypted your phone, perform a factory data reset. This will erase all the data in your phone.

>Click Settings

>Click Back up and Reset

 > Click Factory Data Reset

 >Click Reset Phone

factory data reset

Let's get your device healthy and happy again